Posted by: smyrnatnhistory | March 6, 2009

Do you remember…

….when the only things at exit 70 off of I-24 were Taylor’s Exxon, a Stuckey’s Restaurant and Dad’s Restaurant?
….when the only things at the intersection of Hazelwood and Old Nashville Highway were a Jim Dandy Market, the apartment complex and the Vet’s office?
….when Sam Ridley Pkwy was constructed? (What year was that?)
….when Smyrna Middle School was Smyrna High School?

Feel free to share any other memories you have of Smyrna!

Responses

  1. When I first came to Smyrna Sam Ridley was a two lane wooded stretch of road from the highway to the bridge. I don’t remember the other sections much as I lived in Antioch and M’boro for the most part.

    I will say that even the growth in the last 10 years has been amazing.

  2. Not sure about Sam Ridley, but Lee Victory Pkwy I am going to say 1982-3. Got my first speeding ticket for doing 60 in a 40 MPH zone on a four lane highway.

  3. 1956 there was only 1 in town and one up the hill — if you were there. 1968 there was 3 still here. dean

  4. do you recall when the airport was a us air force base?

  5. I remember the the airforce base. My dad was stationed there. I also remember when the middle school was the high school. I graduated from there in 1982.

  6. I remember when they were building Nissan Blvd. also I reember when Smyrna was called the speed trp of the states. remember that?

  7. After graduating in 1968 I left tenn. and never came back, but thought of Smyrna many times, my mother has many friends. Smyrna was known as a speed trap before I graduated. Tony – it sounds like my high school was your middle school. When I graduated the middle school was on the other side of the baseball field from the high school, must have changed

  8. IS IT TRUE ? YOU CAN’T KEY ! REACH OUT. I’M THERE. IS THERE NO ONE FROM 1968? I MADE MISTAKES , NANCY H. FORGIVE ME.

  9. no one is out there? never was was there! wake up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

